Hall of Fame

The SF State Alumni Hall of Fame was created in 1994 to honor alumni who have distinguished themselves through extraordinary achievements in their professional and civic endeavors.

Each year, a group of alumni are inducted into the Hall of Fame, including the Alum of the Year. Photos of the recipients are displayed in the first floor lobby of the Administration Building.

Hall of Fame Inductees

First Name Last Name Title Induction Yearsort ascending
Jim Wunderman 2017
Mary Calvert 2017
Mourad Lahlou 2017
Norman Schwartz 2017
Jayshree Ullal Engineer 2016
Dennis O'Donnell Anchor 2016
Gregory Fischbach Economist and businessman 2016
Debra Fischer Physicist 2016
Daniel Sullivan Director 2015
Kevin Anderson Public administrator 2015
Sherry M. Hirota Educational administrator 2015
Barbara Lavis Brannon Major General 2015
Mu Sochua Humanitarian and activist 2015
Andrew Ly Businessman 2014
Margaret Avery Actor 2014
Steven Miller Record producer 2014
Michael McClure Poet, playwright and novelist 2014
Judy Marcus Community leader 2013
Al Martinez Journalist and author 2013
Bernard Bragg Actor 2013
Lisa Cholodenko Filmmaker 2013
Paul Cayard Sailing champion 2012
Marsha Rosenbaum Community leader 2012
Jose Antonio Vargas Journalist 2012
Leona Bridges Philanthropist 2012
Thomas Peters Philanthropist 2012
Brent Stranathan Technical Producer 2012
Kay Takeyama Dilena Professor Emerita 2011
Romona Tascoe Public administrator 2011
Vitka Eisen CEO 2011
Flora Chang University president 2011
Philip Schultz Writer 2011
Stan Bunger Anchor 2011
George Duke Musician 2010
Randy Hayes Filmmaker 2010
Janice Mirikitani Poet and activist 2010
Don Nasser Business leader 2010
Kathleen Martinez Community leader 2010
John Gumas Business leader 2010
Jeffrey Tambor Actor 2009
Bill Baird Athlete 2009
Darlene Marie Iskra Naval commander 2009
Steven Okazaki Filmmaker 2009
Ken Bastida News anchor 2008
Joseph L. White Psychologist and activist 2008
Carla Pennington Producer 2008
Arthur Dong Filmmaker 2007
Robert L. Harris Lawyer 2007
Gwen Chan Education leader 2007
Jan Wahl Television personality and producer 2007
Tom Ammiano Politician and activist 2006
John Handy Musician 2006
Ronald Quidachay Judge 2006
Kenneth Fong Biologist and philanthropist 2006
David Sacks Entertainment mogul 2006
Paula LeDuc Business leader 2006
Paul Ash Activist 2005
Bill Thomas Politician 2005
Malou Nubla Television anchor 2005
Glen Charles Producer 2005
Manny Mashouf Businessman and philanthropist 2005
Heather Fong Police Chief 2004
Ella Jenkins Musician 2004
Christopher Boyes Sound engineer 2004
Carter B. Smith Radio personality 2004
Chris Larsen Businessman 2004
Devorah Major Writer 2003
Violet Robinson Professor 2003
Ben Fong-Torres Journalist 2003
Roy De Forest Artist 2003
Peter Casey Producer 2002
Paul Gemignani Musical director 2002
Mohan Gyani Businessman 2002
Jim Wunderman Public administrator 2002
Dennis Chacones Public administrator 2001
Wesla Whitefield Musician 2001
Robert B. Pasker Computer engineer 2000
Jose Medina Politician 1999
Izzy Pivnick Activist and public administrator 1999
Yvonne Cagle Biochemist 1999
Elsa Cameron Curator of art 1999
Nontsizi Cayou Dancer and author 1999
William J. Mason Historian 1999
James Sochor Athlete and coach 1999
Donna Peterson Singer 1999
John Burton Politician 1998
Alma Ribbs Teacher and community leader 1998
Evelyn Ballard Physician and deputy medical director 1998
Melba Beals Journalist and activist 1998
David Walden Mathematician and engineer 1998
Stan Mazor Mathematician and inventor 1998
Vernon Alley Musician 1997
Alice Fong Yu Teacher 1997
R. Paul Butler Physicist 1997
Priscilla Ebersole Nurse 1997
George Miller Politician 1997
Bob Toledo Coach 1997
John Judd Business administrator 1997
Robert Stephen Pastorino Diplomat 1997
Fred Lau Law enforcement 1997
Dave McElhatton News anchor 1997
Sonia Melara Entrepreneur, innovator, social visionary 1996
Ralf Hotchkiss Humanitarian 1996
Joseph E. Marshall Jr. Author and community activist 1996
Annette Bening Academy Award-nominated film actress 1996
Lawrence Chang Mathematician 1996
Karen Johnson-Brennan Nurse, educator and author 1996
Danny Glover Actor and activist 1996
Ronald V. Dellums Politician 1995
Adrian Greenberg Community leader 1995
Donald Livingston Trustee of CSU 1995
Gilman G. Louie Entrepreneur 1995
Janet Pomeroy Author and activist 1995
Ahimsa Sumchai Medical professional 1995
Amalia Mesa-Bains Author and activist 1995
Wilma Mankiller Author, community leader 1995
Careth Reid Community leader 1995
Gordon Hjalmarson Business leader 1995
George Marcus Business leader 1995
Shirley Thornton Education leader 1995
Kent Nagano Musical director 1995
Bill Honig Public administrator 1995
William Marquis Public administrator 1995
Ernest J. Gaines Author 1995
Pierre Salinger Journalist 1995
Frederic Van Amberg News anchor 1995
Rupert Garcia Artist 1995
Ronnie Schell Actor, comedian 1995
Joseph Gionvinco Historian 1995
Cleve Jones Activist 1995
Willie Brown Jr. Politician 1995
Marjorie Stern Activist 1995
Stephen Wolf Business leader 1995
Bernard Goldstein Professor 1995