Hall of Fame

The SF State Alumni Hall of Fame was created in 1994 to honor alumni who have distinguished themselves through extraordinary achievements in their professional and civic endeavors.

Each year, a group of alumni are inducted into the Hall of Fame, including the Alum of the Year. Photos of the recipients are displayed in the first floor lobby of the Administration Building.

Hall of Fame Inductees

First Name Last Namesort ascending Title Induction Year
Alice Fong Yu Teacher 1997
Jim Wunderman 2017
Jim Wunderman Public administrator 2002
Stephen Wolf Business leader 1995
Wesla Whitefield Musician 2001
Joseph L. White Psychologist and activist 2008
David Walden Mathematician and engineer 1998
Jan Wahl Television personality and producer 2007
Jose Antonio Vargas Journalist 2012
Frederic Van Amberg News anchor 1995
Jayshree Ullal Engineer 2016
Bob Toledo Coach 1997
Shirley Thornton Education leader 1995
Bill Thomas Politician 2005
Romona Tascoe Public administrator 2011
Jeffrey Tambor Actor 2009
Ahimsa Sumchai Medical professional 1995
Daniel Sullivan Director 2015
Brent Stranathan Technical Producer 2012
Marjorie Stern Activist 1995
Mu Sochua Humanitarian and activist 2015
James Sochor Athlete and coach 1999
Carter B. Smith Radio personality 2004
Norman Schwartz 2017
Philip Schultz Writer 2011
Ronnie Schell Actor, comedian 1995
Pierre Salinger Journalist 1995
David Sacks Entertainment mogul 2006
Marsha Rosenbaum Community leader 2012
Violet Robinson Professor 2003
Alma Ribbs Teacher and community leader 1998
Careth Reid Community leader 1995
Ronald Quidachay Judge 2006
Janet Pomeroy Author and activist 1995
Izzy Pivnick Activist and public administrator 1999
Donna Peterson Singer 1999
Thomas Peters Philanthropist 2012
Carla Pennington Producer 2008
Robert Stephen Pastorino Diplomat 1997
Robert B. Pasker Computer engineer 2000
Steven Okazaki Filmmaker 2009
Dennis O'Donnell Anchor 2016
Malou Nubla Television anchor 2005
Don Nasser Business leader 2010
Kent Nagano Musical director 1995
Janice Mirikitani Poet and activist 2010
George Miller Politician 1997
Steven Miller Record producer 2014
Amalia Mesa-Bains Author and activist 1995
Sonia Melara Entrepreneur, innovator, social visionary 1996
Jose Medina Politician 1999
Dave McElhatton News anchor 1997
Michael McClure Poet, playwright and novelist 2014
Stan Mazor Mathematician and inventor 1998
William J. Mason Historian 1999
Manny Mashouf Businessman and philanthropist 2005
Kathleen Martinez Community leader 2010
Al Martinez Journalist and author 2013
Joseph E. Marshall Jr. Author and community activist 1996
William Marquis Public administrator 1995
Judy Marcus Community leader 2013
George Marcus Business leader 1995
Wilma Mankiller Author, community leader 1995
Devorah Major Writer 2003
Andrew Ly Businessman 2014
Gilman G. Louie Entrepreneur 1995
Donald Livingston Trustee of CSU 1995
Paula LeDuc Business leader 2006
Fred Lau Law enforcement 1997
Chris Larsen Businessman 2004
Mourad Lahlou 2017
John Judd Business administrator 1997
Cleve Jones Activist 1995
Karen Johnson-Brennan Nurse, educator and author 1996
Ella Jenkins Musician 2004
Darlene Marie Iskra Naval commander 2009
Ralf Hotchkiss Humanitarian 1996
Bill Honig Public administrator 1995
Gordon Hjalmarson Business leader 1995
Sherry M. Hirota Educational administrator 2015
Randy Hayes Filmmaker 2010
Robert L. Harris Lawyer 2007
John Handy Musician 2006
Mohan Gyani Businessman 2002
John Gumas Business leader 2010
Adrian Greenberg Community leader 1995
Bernard Goldstein Professor 1995
Danny Glover Actor and activist 1996
Joseph Gionvinco Historian 1995
Paul Gemignani Musical director 2002
Rupert Garcia Artist 1995
Ernest J. Gaines Author 1995
Ben Fong-Torres Journalist 2003
Kenneth Fong Biologist and philanthropist 2006
Heather Fong Police Chief 2004
Debra Fischer Physicist 2016
Gregory Fischbach Economist and businessman 2016
Vitka Eisen CEO 2011
Priscilla Ebersole Nurse 1997
George Duke Musician 2010
Arthur Dong Filmmaker 2007
Kay Takeyama Dilena Professor Emerita 2011
Ronald V. Dellums Politician 1995
Roy De Forest Artist 2003
Lisa Cholodenko Filmmaker 2013
Glen Charles Producer 2005
Lawrence Chang Mathematician 1996
Flora Chang University president 2011
Gwen Chan Education leader 2007
Dennis Chacones Public administrator 2001
Nontsizi Cayou Dancer and author 1999
Paul Cayard Sailing champion 2012
Peter Casey Producer 2002
Elsa Cameron Curator of art 1999
Mary Calvert 2017
Yvonne Cagle Biochemist 1999
R. Paul Butler Physicist 1997
John Burton Politician 1998
Stan Bunger Anchor 2011
Willie Brown Jr. Politician 1995
Leona Bridges Philanthropist 2012
Barbara Lavis Brannon Major General 2015
Bernard Bragg Actor 2013
Christopher Boyes Sound engineer 2004
Annette Bening Academy Award-nominated film actress 1996
Melba Beals Journalist and activist 1998
Ken Bastida News anchor 2008
Evelyn Ballard Physician and deputy medical director 1998
Bill Baird Athlete 2009
Margaret Avery Actor 2014
Paul Ash Activist 2005
Kevin Anderson Public administrator 2015
Tom Ammiano Politician and activist 2006
Vernon Alley Musician 1997