Hall of Fame

The SF State Alumni Hall of Fame was created in 1994 to honor alumni who have distinguished themselves through extraordinary achievements in their professional and civic endeavors.

Each year, a group of alumni are inducted into the Hall of Fame, including the Alum of the Year. Photos of the recipients are displayed in the first floor lobby of the Administration Building.

Hall of Fame Inductees

First Name Last Name Titlesort descending Induction Year
Jim Wunderman 2017
Mary Calvert 2017
Mourad Lahlou 2017
Norman Schwartz 2017
Annette Bening Academy Award-nominated film actress 1996
Paul Ash Activist 2005
Marjorie Stern Activist 1995
Cleve Jones Activist 1995
Izzy Pivnick Activist and public administrator 1999
Margaret Avery Actor 2014
Bernard Bragg Actor 2013
Delroy Lindo Actor 2021
Jeffrey Tambor Actor 2009
Danny Glover Actor and activist 1996
Ronnie Schell Actor, comedian 1995
Stan Bunger Anchor 2011
Dennis O'Donnell Anchor 2016
Roy De Forest Artist 2003
Rupert Garcia Artist 1995
Bill Baird Athlete 2009
James Sochor Athlete and coach 1999
Ernest J. Gaines Author 1995
Janet Pomeroy Author and activist 1995
Amalia Mesa-Bains Author and activist 1995
Joseph E. Marshall Jr. Author and community activist 1996
Wilma Mankiller Author, community leader 1995
Yvonne Cagle Biochemist 1999
Kenneth Fong Biologist and philanthropist 2006
John Judd Business administrator 1997
Paula LeDuc Business leader 2006
George Marcus Business leader 1995
John Gumas Business leader 2010
Gordon Hjalmarson Business leader 1995
Don Nasser Business leader 2010
Stephen Wolf Business leader 1995
Andrew Ly Businessman 2014
Mohan Gyani Businessman 2002
Chris Larsen Businessman 2004
Manny Mashouf Businessman and philanthropist 2005
Vitka Eisen CEO 2011
Bob Toledo Coach 1997
Careth Reid Community leader 1995
Judy Marcus Community leader 2013
Marsha Rosenbaum Community leader 2012
Kathleen Martinez Community leader 2010
Adrian Greenberg Community leader 1995
Robert B. Pasker Computer engineer 2000
Elsa Cameron Curator of art 1999
Nontsizi Cayou Dancer and author 1999
Robert Stephen Pastorino Diplomat 1997
Daniel Sullivan Director 2015
Gregory Fischbach Economist and businessman 2016
Shirley Thornton Education leader 1995
Gwen Chan Education leader 2007
Sherry M. Hirota Educational administrator 2015
Virginia P. Marshall Educator 2019
Jayshree Ullal Engineer 2016
David Sacks Entertainment mogul 2006
Gilman G. Louie Entrepreneur 1995
Sonia Melara Entrepreneur, innovator, social visionary 1996
Emily Kirsch Entrepreneur, venture capitalist 2021
Robert Garfias Ethnomusicologist 2019
Arthur Dong Filmmaker 2007
Randy Hayes Filmmaker 2010
Steven Okazaki Filmmaker 2009
Lisa Cholodenko Filmmaker 2013
Joseph Gionvinco Historian 1995
William J. Mason Historian 1999
Neda Nobari Humanitarian 2020
Ralf Hotchkiss Humanitarian 1996
Mu Sochua Humanitarian and activist 2015
Ben Fong-Torres Journalist 2003
Pierre Salinger Journalist 1995
Jose Antonio Vargas Journalist 2012
Melba Beals Journalist and activist 1998
Al Martinez Journalist and author 2013
Ronald Quidachay Judge 2006
Fred Lau Law enforcement 1997
Robert L. Harris Lawyer 2007
Barbara Lavis Brannon Major General 2015
Lawrence Chang Mathematician 1996
David Walden Mathematician and engineer 1998
Stan Mazor Mathematician and inventor 1998
Ahimsa Sumchai Medical professional 1995
Paul Gemignani Musical director 2002
Kent Nagano Musical director 1995
Vernon Alley Musician 1997
George Duke Musician 2010
John Handy Musician 2006
Ella Jenkins Musician 2004
Wesla Whitefield Musician 2001
Darlene Marie Iskra Naval commander 2009
Ken Bastida News anchor 2008
Dave McElhatton News anchor 1997
Frederic Van Amberg News anchor 1995
Priscilla Ebersole Nurse 1997
Karen Johnson-Brennan Nurse, educator and author 1996
Leona Bridges Philanthropist 2012
Thomas Peters Philanthropist 2012
Doug Menuez Photographer, photojournalist 2021
Evelyn Ballard Physician and deputy medical director 1998
Esteban G. Burchard Physician-Scientist 2018
R. Paul Butler Physicist 1997
Debra Fischer Physicist 2016
Janice Mirikitani Poet and activist 2010
Michael McClure Poet, playwright and novelist 2014
Heather Fong Police Chief 2004
Ronald V. Dellums Politician 1995
Willie Brown Jr. Politician 1995
Jose Medina Politician 1999
John Burton Politician 1998
George Miller Politician 1997
Bill Thomas Politician 2005
Tom Ammiano Politician and activist 2006
Jonas Rivera Producer 2020
Peter Casey Producer 2002
Glen Charles Producer 2005
Carla Pennington Producer 2008
Violet Robinson Professor 2003
Bernard Goldstein Professor 1995
Kay Takeyama Dilena Professor Emerita 2011
Joseph L. White Psychologist and activist 2008
Jim Wunderman Public administrator 2002
Kevin Anderson Public administrator 2015
William Marquis Public administrator 1995
Romona Tascoe Public administrator 2011
Bill Honig Public administrator 1995
Dennis Chacones Public administrator 2001
Carter B. Smith Radio personality 2004
Steven Miller Record producer 2014
Paul Cayard Sailing champion 2012
Jinho "Piper" Ferreira Sheriff 2018
Donna Peterson Singer 1999
Christopher Boyes Sound engineer 2004
Ted Griggs Sports TV Executive 2021
Juanita Tomayo Lott Statistician 2019
Alice Fong Yu Teacher 1997
Alma Ribbs Teacher and community leader 1998
Brent Stranathan Technical Producer 2012
Malou Nubla Television anchor 2005
Jan Wahl Television personality and producer 2007
Donald Livingston Trustee of CSU 1995
Flora Chang University president 2011
Devorah Major Writer 2003
John Stanley Writer 2019
Rebecca Solnit Writer 2018
Philip Schultz Writer 2011
Kitty Tsui Writer 2018